Issue 151, October 2015
Honouring our alumni stars and pioneer educators
​Thirty-one outstanding alumni are presented the 2015 Nanyang Alumni Awards and more than 120 pioneer educators are honoured at NTU Alumni Night 2015

Nanyang Technological University conferred the 2015 Nanyang Alumni Awards to 31 outstanding alumni and honoured the contributions of its pioneer educators during NTU Alumni Night at this year’s NTU Homecoming on 17 October held at NTU’s Nanyang Auditorium which was attended by a record crowd of close to 2,200.

Guest-of-honour Minister in Prime Minister’s Office and Secretary-General of the National Trade Union Congress Mr Chan Chun Sing, and NTU President Professor Bertil Andersson presented award trophies and certificates to the alumni recipients.

Over 120 pioneer educators from NTU and its predecessor institutions attended the ceremony, including several pioneers in their 80s. A video tribute was played and each of the pioneers received a specially designed and minted medallion from Minister Chan.

NTU President, Professor Bertil Andersson, said: “This year’s Homecoming is a special one as we mark Singapore’s Golden Jubilee. It is especially meaningful on this occasion that we pay tribute to our pioneer educators – faculty and staff from Nanyang University, Nanyang Technological Institute, National Institute of Education and NTU. They had laid the foundation of Singapore’s education system during the early days of nation building and today, Singapore is known internationally for its high standards of education.”

“This evening, we also celebrate the achievements of our alumni who have given so much not only to the University, but also to society. Alumni act as a bridge for the university and society, and they are also our ambassadors. They are the real “stars” of their alma mater,” said Prof ​Andersson.

Launched in 2005, the Nanyang Alumni Awards honour alumni’s exemplary achievements in diverse fields, or their significant contributions to the betterment of NTU, the community or the society. Individuals are selected for the honour they bring to the university through outstanding accomplishments in four categories: the Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award, the Nanyang Alumni Achievement Award, the Nanyang Outstanding Young Alumni Award and the Nanyang Alumni Service Award.

The highest accolade, the Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award, was presented to Brunei’s Education Minister The Honourable Pehin Dato Abu Bakar Apong (IE/1974), Minister of State for Manpower Mr Teo Ser Luck (NBS/1992), and former Commissioner of the Singapore Police Force Mr Ng Joo Hee (NBS/1998). 

Amongst the six recipients of the Nanyang Alumni Achievement Award were Editor-in-Chief of Shin Min Daily Mr Pan Cheng Lui (Arts/1979), former CEO of Yayasan MENDAKI Mdm Moliah Binte Hashim (NIE/1997) and Mediacorp actress Ms Joanne Peh (WKWSCI/2006).

SEA Games 2015 Gold medallist sailor Ms Jovina Choo (SSM/2013) was one of the recipients of the Nanyang Outstanding Young Alumni Award, which also included award-winning composer Mr Chester Tan (NBS/1999), CEO of the Reebonz Group Mr Samuel Lee (NBS/2002) and renowned photographer Mr Edwin Koo (NBS/2003). 

For their dedication and commitment to the University’s causes and initiative, 14 alumni who have served or are currently serving in NTU’s local and overseas alumni associations were honoured with the Nanyang Alumni Service Award.

Nanyang Alumni Awards 2015 recipients:

Nanyang Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Dr Pehin Abu Bakar Apong (IE/1974) 
  • Mr Teo Ser Luck (NBS/1992)
  • Mr Ng Joo Hee (NBS/1998)
Nanyang Alumni Achievement Award
  • Mr Pan Cheng Lui (Arts/1979) 
  • Dr Lee Shiang Long (MPE/1990, 1993 & 2000)
  • Mdm Moliah Binte Hashim (NIE/1997 & 2000) 
  • Mr Ong Chao Choon (NBS/1998)
  • Ms Peh Wei Siew Joanne (WKWSCI/2006)
  • Mr Fan Ruiping (HSS/2011)
Nanyang Outstanding Young Alumni Award 
  • Ms Lim Yen Peng Linda (NIE/1998)
  • Mr Tan Juan Yee Chester (NBS/1999)
  • Ms Lim Chye Ling (NBS/2000; NIE/2001) 
  • Dr Ong Kai Wei (MPE/2001; MAE/2006) 
  • Mr Lim Kok Eng Samuel (NBS/2002)
  • Mr Tan Wee Beng (EEE/2002)
  • Mr Koo Kah Heng Edwin (WKWSCI/2003)
  • Ms Choo Bei Fen Jovina (SSM/2013)
Nanyang Alumni Service Award 
  • Ms Tan Kuan Yong (Commerce/1970)
  • Mr Tan Teck Beng (NBS/1995) 
  • Mr Toh Hong Seng (EEE/1996; NIE/1997 & 2004)
  • Mr Qian Qinyang (HSS/1999) 
  • Ms Chen Heung Kwan Anna (NBS/2001) 
  • Ms Li Wenqi (NBS/2002)
  • Mr Shi Jun (NBS/2007) 
  • Mr Chen Xiongwei (NBS/2008)
  • Mr Yang Ye (HSS/2008) 
  • Mr Lau Koon Tuck Vincent (MSE/2009)
  • Mr Ng Zhihan (SCBE/2009)
  • Mr Zeng Peng (NBS/2009)
  • Ms Fung Foon Yin (SBS/2010)
  • Ms Chen Yu Ru Serene (MAE/2011)
To read the awardees’ citations, please click here.

© Nanyang Technological University Singapore