Issue 112, July 2012
National honours for inspirational young educators
Three young teachers received the Outstanding Youth in Education Award (OYEA) for their unwavering efforts in nurturing their students

Mr Elmi Zulkarnain bin Osman from Pasir Ris Primary School, Ms Phyllis Gabrielle Pham Hong Lien from Clementi Town Secondary School and Mr Donny Lee Wee Siong from Northbrooks Secondary School received the award during the National Institute of Education (NIE)’s Teacher Investiture Ceremony.

Selected from 14 finalists and shortlisted from 505 nominated teachers, the three recipients strongly believe that education is about nurturing the child. They seek to nurture all-rounded individuals through their lessons and interaction with students. The teachers also desire to inspire and develop their students by adopting innovative approaches both inside and outside the classroom, and are dedicated in stretching their students’ potential to the fullest.

The OYEA is a national award that recognises excellent young teachers for their enthusiasm, energy and active involvement in the development of youth. Since its inception in 1999, 39 outstanding young educators, including this year’s recipients, have been recognised.

Mr Elmi Zulkarnain bin Osman from Pasir Ris Primary School (NIE/Class of 2004)
Mr Elmi Zulkarnain is a strong advocate of National Education and Character Education, and a firm believer that every student has a role to play for the nation. As the Head of Department in charge of Character & Citizenship Education (CCE), he spearheads the design and implementation of the school’s CCE programmes. As the Malay Language Coordinator, he seeks to promote a culture of learning and collaboration amongst his students and colleagues. Mr Elmi Zulkarnain is also very passionate about the development of youths beyond curriculum hours. This can be seen in his commitment as a grassroots leader and an active participant in youth engagement programmes.

Ms Phyllis Gabrielle Pham Hong Lien from Clementi Town Secondary School (NIE/Class of 2004)
Ms Pham continually strives to create opportunities for her students to experience success as she believes that every child can excel. She encourages her students to think positive and to always persevere. Her belief in them greatly motivates them to strive towards their goals. As the Head of Department of Humanities and Curriculum Leadership, she has contributed to the development of the school’s Humanities Integrated Project and the use of Photojournalism projects to enhance the students’ learning journey. Ms Pham appreciates the importance of continual professional learning and motivates her colleagues to innovate in their teaching pedagogies and strategies.

Mr Donny Lee Wee Siong from Northbrooks Secondary School (NIE/Class of 2004)
Mr Lee strongly supports character education and he inspires his students to try their best and excel in their tasks. As the Head of Department for the Normal Technical Stream and Discipline, Mr Lee conceptualised the ‘Naturally Talented’ programme to help his students discover their strengths. As the Head-in-charge of the Student Management Committee, he collaborates with agencies to better understand the needs of students with behavioural or social problems.

The Teachers’ Investiture Ceremony held on 11 and 12 July at NTU’s Nanyang Auditorium celebrated the graduation of 2,133 newly qualified teachers joining the Singapore Education Service.

© Alumni Affairs Office