Issue 172, July 2017
Professor Subra Suresh named President of NTU Singapore
​An eminent American scientist, engineer and entrepreneur, Prof Suresh will succeed Prof Bertil Andersson as the 4th President

Professor Subra Suresh, an eminent American scientist, engineer and entrepreneur chosen in 2010 by then-US President Barack Obama to lead the US National Science Foundation (NSF), will succeed Professor Bertil Andersson as the 4th President of Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore).

Prof Suresh will begin his presidency on 1 January 2018, when Prof Andersson retires from the role he has held since 2011.

He joins NTU from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) where he was President for the last four years. Carnegie Mellon has been credited for its contribution to the transformation of the city of Pittsburgh from primarily a steel producer to a diverse economy through advances in technology, services and medicine.

A current independent director of HP Inc, Palo Alto and an advisor to the senior leadership of Siemens AG, Germany on science, technology and innovation, Prof Suresh served as Director of the NSF from 2010 to 2013. In that leadership role, he oversaw an annual budget of US$7 billion that supports fundamental research and innovation in all fields of science and engineering and related education in more than 2,000 institutions across the US and in a number of global research facilities from the Arctic to Antarctica. Before NSF, he was Dean of Engineering and Vannevar Bush Professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

25 years of relations in Singapore
Prof Suresh has had numerous high-level interactions with Singapore for nearly a quarter century. He has served as a consultant to the National Science and Technology Board, on the Advisory Boards or Councils of A*STAR Institutes and several schools at the National University of Singapore. He held the inaugural Tan Chin Tuan Centennial Chair for visiting appointments at the National University of Singapore from 2006 to 2010.

Prof Suresh was the principal faculty coordinator from MIT for the formation of the Singapore-MIT Alliance for Research and Technology (SMART) centre in 2006. SMART is the first centre in the National Research Foundation's Campus for Research Excellence and Technological Enterprise (CREATE). ​​In this capacity, he worked closely with the MIT and Singapore research communities, and crystallised and presented the vision for the SMART centre and its role in the CREATE campus in July 2006 to the Research, Innovation and Enterprise Council (RIEC), chaired by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

While serving as Dean of Engineering at MIT, Prof Suresh continued his scholarly work in partnership with colleagues from NUS and NTU in the first SMART centre programme on infectious diseases, which led to several dozen research articles in leading international journals.

For the past several years, he has served as a member of both the Academic Research Council and the International Academic Advisory Panel of Singapore's Ministry of Education.

You may read more about Prof Suresh here.

© Nanyang Technological University Singapore