August 2019 | Issue 43
Trailblazers of Class of 2019

​Three new medals were given out to deserving graduands, throwing the spotlight on ethics, surgery and clinical medicine 

This year, six LKCMedicine graduates from the Class of 2019, who blazed a trail through their five years of MBBS study, were conferred 10 special accolades – medals, prizes and awards – at the Graduation Dinner on 19 July, and two NTU Convocation ceremonies on 23 July and 27 July.

At the Dinner, the graduating class caught up with their peers, joined by their parents and loved ones as well as the School, NTU and National Healthcare Group’s many well-wishers. Guest-of-Honour NTU Board of
Trustees member and LKCMedicine Governing Board Chairman Mr Lim Chuan Poh, NTU President Subra
Suresh and LKCMedicine Dean Professor James Best congratulated the 75 graduands, their families and loved ones.

Three new medals were given out this year at the Convocation: Low Cheng Hock Gold Medal in Surgery, Chew Chin Hin Gold Medal in Clinical Medicine and Chee Yam Cheng Gold Medal in Professionalism, Ethics, Law, Leadership and Patient Safety.

IMG_0163 copy.JPEG

Doctors Seow Yi Heng, Wee Lin, and Nicholas Lee with their medal haul 

Valedictorian Dr Wee Lin was awarded the prestigious Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal — one of 37 — at the first NTU Convocation ceremony on 23 July. She also received the Anthony SC Teo-Gordon Johnson Gold Medal for attaining the best clinical skills results, years three to five at the Convocation ceremony on 27 July and the inaugural Low Cheng Hock Gold Medal at the Convocation.

Delivering her Valedictorian speech, she said, “I am very grateful for the many people who have shaped my learning and helped me to grow in LKCMedicine. They have shaped the way I practise and set a strong foundation for me that I hope to continue to build upon as I start work.”

Dr Brian Ho Han Khai and Dr Seow Yi Heng received the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Awards for having shown
exceptional leadership and character. They also get to honour inspirational former teachers and LKCMedicine faculty. Dr Seow also received the Toh Kian Chui Gold Medal and the inaugural Chew Chin Hin Gold Medal.

C1 Convocation 2019 0170ml.jpgKoh Boon Hwee Scholars receving their medals from Singapore President Madam Halimah Yacob 

“I’m glad that this is as much a celebration of achievement as a recognition of the teachers who made it possible,” said Dr Ho, who nominated LKCMedicine Associate Professor of Human and Microbial Genetics Eric Yap and Madam Loo Shek Kien, formerly of Anglo-Chinese School (Independent).

“A/Prof Yap inspires and encourages independent learning. It was a pleasure to work with him on a number of research projects and Overseas Community Involvement Projects. I nominated Mdm Loo for her dedication and for teaching me the importance of holding oneself to standards.”

A/Prof Yap in turn said of Dr Ho, “True humility seldom partners great ability. In the rare instance when this
occurs, it is a precursor of prospective prominence. What a privilege for me to have witnessed this of Brian on his journey at LKCMedicine.”

Dr Ho admitted that it was difficult to choose just two teachers to acknowledge for the Award, considering the many who have made a difference to him, and would also like to recognise Mr William Lai of ACS (Independent), LKCMedicine Head of Anatomy Assistant Professor Sreenivasulu Reddy Mogali and LKCMedicine Assistant Dean for Year 5 Associate Professor Tham Kum Ying for their influence.


Koh Boon Hwee Scholars with Profs Best and Suresh 

Dr Seow said of his Award, “I have an increasing appreciation of how clinical medicine can only be learnt
through apprenticeship and Principal Lead for Urology Associate Professor Lee Yee Mun would dissect our thought processes and guide us into making sound clinical judgements while imparting wisdom along the way. Mr Justin Heng was my biology and civics tutor in Hwa Chong Institution, who sparked my interest in science and research, and guided my path into medical school.”

A/Prof Lee Yee Mun said, "Yi Heng stood out as a disciplined, genuine and well-mannered person, a self-motivated learner who does not hesitate to seek guidance when needed. I look forward to working with him as a colleague.”

The Academy of Medicine, Singapore Medal was presented to Dr Lee Cheok Hon at the Graduation Dinner by Dr S R E Sayampanathan. 


Dr Lee Cheok Hon received The Academy of Medicine, Singapore Medical at the Graduation Dinner by Dr S R E Sayampanathan. 

"This award belongs to the people who have shaped my perspective about being a leader. They inspired me to think bigger and broader, fight faster and longer, and care deeper and harder than ever. This fire is a powerful driving force, and a gift that I will be forever grateful for,” said Dr Lee.

The College of Family Physicians Prize was presented by the College President, Assistant Professor Tan Tze
Lee to Dr Koh Jin Kiat, who wrote the best essay on family medicine. Of his win, Dr Koh said, “My dream is to be a doctor who can provide holistic care to patients. I have increasingly realised that this requires the support of a robust Family Medicine system.”

R3M00110 copy.JPG

Dr Koh Jin Kiat received the College of Family Physicians Prize by the College President, Assistant Professor Tan Tze Lee

Dr Nicholas Lee Yew Wen is the inaugural recipient of the Chee Yam Cheng Gold Medal in Professionalism, Ethics, Law, Leadership and Patient Safety, chosen for having written the best essay on the topic. "The issues of extent of care in hospitals is a very pressing and pertinent issue. Employing ethics in patientcare is a crucial way to do what is best and right for them."