Issue 160, July 2016
National honours for inspirational young educators

​Five young teachers receive this year’s Outstanding Youth in Education Award for their commendable dedication to their students’ development

In recognition of their inspiring teaching and unwavering dedication to their students, five young teachers received the Outstanding Youth in Education Award (OYEA) from Mr Ng Chee Meng, Acting Minister for Education (Schools), at the National Institute of Education (NIE) Teachers’ Investiture Ceremony on 4 July 2016. The ceremony held from 4 to 5 July 2016 celebrated the graduation of 1,220 ​new and returning teachers joining the Singapore Education Service.

This year’s OYEA recipients, all of whom are NTU alumni, are:


  • Ms Nurul Munirah Bte Abdul Samad (Class of 2009), CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School (Primary)
  • Mr Joel Prathiev Vinson (Class of 2011), First Toa Payoh Primary School
  • Ms Toh Xin Yi Sheena (Class of 2008), Seng Kang Primary School
  • Mr Cai Zhiwen (Class of 2011), Juying Secondary School
  • Mr Low Wei Chuan (Class of 2011), Nan Hua High School
Selected from 12 shortlisted finalists, the five winners strongly believe that education is about nurturing the child holistically. They are committed to the character, moral and citizenship development of students. These teachers have also distinguished themselves by adopting innovative approaches both in and outside the classroom. They are highly dedicated in motivating their students to bring out their full potential.

The OYEA winners were selected by the OYEA Selection Panel, comprising representatives from the Ministry of Education, NIE, the National Youth Council, and COMmunity and PArents in Support of Schools (COMPASS). A total of 4,037 nominations from the schools and members of the public were received for 1,005 teachers from 260 schools in 2016.

The OYEA is a national award that recognises young teachers for their commendable enthusiasm, energy and active involvement in youth development. Since its inception in 1999, 60 outstanding young educators, including this year’s winners, have received the award.

© Nanyang Technological University Singapore